Twist in the bowl! #healthierversions Healthy Veggie Lunch Ideas

Monday to Friday Lunch options
Monday to Friday Lunch options

I love fooood! I start my day with a Chutney Sandwich which is truly believe sets the mood of my day! I cheer on some bhujia for the sparkly sprinkles too. I sip my coffee like I have no business to get to, I give it all the attention it needs! So basically what I am trying to say is that I take my food seriously. Being a veggie there is lots to play around with..and it’s great to have learnt about a lot of ingredients, cuisines..and a little adventurous tongue helps too! But I have a long longgg way to go.
What I have here is a just a week’s lunch choices that we made at home and it doesn’t go all out there screaming ‘HEALTHY’. It’s just a little twist in the regular menu.

Monday : Upside Down Tomato Pessarattu
I had leftover pessarattu batter from the weekend and was whipping my batter when I saw a pic of upside down pineapple cake on pinterest …and I had to try this version out. So good old pessarattu got more fun with all the veggies and masalas that go into Uthapam and then got the tomato updo.:)

Tuesday: Sambar with Brown Rice
That’s a simple one. I will just let it go with just one tip about brown rice. My friend suggested and it work! Soaking the brown rice for a few hours before cooking really helps it soften a little bit and then it gets cooked a little sooner than the usual.

Wednesday: Couscous with Veggies
So hubby darling introduced me to the most awesome (read convienientttt) staple. So all you have to do is..boil some water..put the couscous..cover it up..and rest it and TADAN! Yep. On those lazy days when I don’t feel like rolling the rotis..or boiling brown rice..i really fall back on this Couscous. It’s so far worked great with almost all the Indian curries, stir fry veggies..love it the most with Chole! Punjabi Chole with Middle Eastern Couscous, marriage made in heaven I say 😀

Thursday: Chana Dal and Lauki with Brown Rice
This awesome South Indian recipe is a winner at our place everytime we get Lauki/Bottleguard. Goes real well with the brown rice.

Friday: Simplified Pindi Chole
I love love love chole/chickpeas. For veggies..what a yummy protein! I love mixing the boiled/canned chickpeas in all the dry masalas..and then stir frying them in a nice tadka. Garnish it with chopped onion, tomatoes, coriander and a dash of lemon.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

